Yama Warashi - Moon egg

Yama Warashi - Moon egg

from 7.00

Available on

  • Limited edition gold and blue vinyl

  • Limited edition gold vinyl

  • Black vinyl

  • Digipack CD

  • Download

sold out
Add To Cart

Yama Warashi’s debut album ‘MOON EGG’. Out on limited edition run of 100 12” half gold, half blue vinyl with a comic book made by Yoshino Shigihara and 200 gold 12”. Also available digitally, on CD and no black vinyl.

Moon Egg is about delusion and hope. We all dream about something and sometimes we dream a bit too much and it can become reality in our mind. Sometimes we realize that we all believe something that is a complete fantasy. But also feeling and believing something exciting and juicy is a great and magical feeling. ‘MOON EGG’ is about this magic, dreams, delusion and hope.

Yama Warashi was formed by Bristol-based Japanese artist Yoshino Shigihara.

Yama Warashi (山童) means a small child-like spirit which lives in the mountains.

Her music has a dreamy evocative sound with a shadow of moon cake, inspired by Japanese folk dance music, Bon Odori (盆踊り), free jazz and African music with a slice of electric psychedelia. She sings in her mother tongue as well as in English. Songs are about mycelium, nuclear power stations and the tangled relationships of humans, nature and moon phases.

Lead Single ‘Quagmire Moon’ is about the moon getting annoyed with smoke from the chimney which is also making it feel a bit strange. She used Japanese bon dance rhythm and has taken some lyrics from a traditional Japanese song to recreate a danceable groove.

The eclectic band members are all from exciting Bristol music collective ‘BLOOM’ . Conrad Singh (Cloudshoes/The Evil Usses) on Guitar, Dan Truen (The Evil Usses) on Drums, Graeme Smith (Dubi Dolkzeck/Count Bobo) on Sax, Lewis Fitzjohn (Dubi Dolkzeck) on bass and Lorenzo Pratti (The Evil Usses/Tezeta) on Sax.

Yama Warashi self released their debut EP ‘MOON ZERO’ at the beginning of the year. Both this EP and ‘MOON EGG’ were recorded at the cellar tapes U.K in Bristol by Benjamin Whitehouse and produced by Bristol legend Sam Wisternoff a.k.a SJ Esau.

Track List;
1. Moon Egg
2. Funa Uta
3. Tangled Roots
4. Quagmire Moon
5. Panca-dhatavah
6. Blue and Gold
7. Half Moon Bamboo
8. Spring Tide
9. Unfreezing Time
10. Tsukino Tamago
11. Voice of the Wind