Ivan The Tolerable And His Elastic Band - Rations

Ivan The Tolerable And His Elastic Band - Rations

15.00 19.99
Add To Cart

Available on

  • Double black vinyl (click below)

  • Download

‘Rations’ is Oli Heffernan's twentieth album in 7 years as Ivan The Tolerable, now the main vehicle for his hallucinatory basement outpourings since the dissolution of the beloved Year Of Birds. After a constant flow of releases on labels like Third Uncle, Art Is Hard, Endless, Forward Fast, Ack! Ack! Ack! and more, he finally found his way to Stolen Body Records. Here he eschews his old group's acerbic brevity for a sprawling double slab of time-dilating chug and wail. Joined by Tom Carter (Charalambides) on cosmic lead, Kevin Nickles (Ecstatic Vision/Writhing Squares) on flute and saxophone and members of King Champion Sounds (with whom Heffernan plays bass and organ), the band ride the taut, rattling grooves out past Pluto every time.
‘Rations’ was recorded on three different planets during 2018. -Thomas House (Sweet Williams/Sloath/Haress) March 2019


All songs by Heffernan
Recorded during 2018-2019 in England, Holland and the USA Mixed by Ajay Saggar, Soundation Studios, NL - Jan 2019 Mastered at The Miss Factory - Feb 2019
Design by Oli Heffernan

Oli Heffernan: Bass / Guitars / Synths / Organ Mees Siderius: Drums / Percussion
Kevin Nickles: Flute / Saxophone
Tom Carter: Guitars / Pocket Synth

Holly Habstritt-Gaal: Rhodes / Trumpet / Vocal on ‘Bitter Moon’


A1. Great White Buildings

A2. Sunken Battleship

A3. Mothra

B1. What Happened In History

B2. Silver Sails

B3. The Metallic Sea

C1. Painted Hands

C2. On Easter Island

C3. Bleached Venetian

D1. Empty Lantern (Fog)

D2. Ex Hex

D3. Bitter Moon