Earth Tongue - Floating Being

Earth Tongue - Floating Being

from 10.00

Please note the Nerve Death And Black vinyl are pre orders. We expect them in our HQ in mid September. Orders will only be sent out when everything in your basket is available.

Add To Cart

Available on

  • Nerve Death Edition (200 available Red And Orange with Orange Vinyl Splatter on reverse board printed sleeve) PRE ORDER

  • Limited Astonishing Comet Edition Vinyl (100 available 50 from us and 50 direct from the band)

  • Inverted Eyeball Edition (250)

  • Black Vinyl (now on is 2nd edition on reverse board printed sleeve) PRE ORDER

  • CD

  • Download

Sometimes music is supposed to feel weird and indescribable. It’s the moments of clarity within the dense, sonic mess that often feels the most satisfying. That’s the space that Earth Tongue occupy. At times, their songs are shrill and disorientating, other times their reverb-washed textures and instantly- familiar hooks can wrap you in a warm, loving embrace. The one consistent thread through their music, however, is the thick and all encompassing fuzz. Guitarist Gussie Larkin has become a master of the fuzz-smothered riff, and along with Ezra Simons’ off-kilter drumming, they’ve been sending punters into transcendental states since they began gigging in their home town of Wellington, New Zealand in 2016.

Floating Being will be released this June 21st. The album was pieced together throughout their travels of Australia and Europe, with the finishing touches being added in their hometown. The album contains songs they’ve been playing live for the past year, and it captures the raw, primitive energy that exists within their live performance. Earth Tongue embrace the imperfections in their playing and recording - drawing influence from early 70s psych and prog rock. The last thing they wanted was to create a shiny, over-produced record - with that in mind, they recorded the drums to an old 8-track Tascam reel-to-reel in a friend’s garage in Melbourne. The result is a punchy, raw and fuzzy journey into psych-rock with songs that weave between melodic and jarring. Unexpected twists and turns leave the listener in a disorientated yet satisfying haze.

Track Listing

1. Microscopic God

2. Probing The New Reality 

3. Hidden Entrance

4. Unseen Tormentor

5. Astonishing Comet

6. The Well Of Pristine Order

7. Portable Shrine

8. The Dome

9. Sentient Sediment